Tag: The Library Campaign

Libraries news round-up: 11 May 2018

Leicester Mercury: 11 May South Wigston Library to close as Leicestershire County Council ‘community-run’ deal  The Lincolnite: 11 May Lincoln libraries closed until takeover Lincolnshire Live: 11 May Three Lincoln libraries to close for a week after operator goes under North…

Libraries News Round-up: 1 May 2018

Coventry Telegraph: 1 May Popular neighbourhood library at risk of closure – again https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/news/coventry-news/earlsdon-library-coventry-closing-14593614 Coventry Telegraph: 1 May Council ‘exploring options’ to save at-risk library https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/news/coventry-news/council-exploring-options-save-risk-14600578 The Cornish Times: 1 May Library in Cornwall could be transferred for just £1 http://www.cornish-times.co.uk/article.cfm?id=115851 Watford…

Libraries News Round-up: 15 April 2018

Cornish Times: 15 April Cornwall | £500k plans for library Plans for Liskeard library revealed. Control of the building would be devolved from Cornwall Council to the Plymouth-based community interest company Real Ideas Organisation, who will create an ‘iconic cultural…

Libraries News Round-up: 4 April 2018

Ledbury Reporter: 4 April Powys | Town’s library will move to school next month http://www.ledburyreporter.co.uk/news/16135967.towns-library-will-move-to-school-next-month/ PRIVATE EYE Edition No. 1467 Library News (p.35)  | Hove’s Carnegie Library In newsagents The Socialist: 4 April Bromley library workers walk out over ‘insulting’…

Libraries News Round-up: 31 March 2018

Eastbourne Herald: 30 March East Sussex | Library death of a thousand cuts https://www.eastbourneherald.co.uk/news/your-say/library-death-of-a-thousand-cuts-1-8437731 Fife Today: 30 March Grant enables feasibility study of Jubilee Hall https://www.fifetoday.co.uk/news/grant-enables-feasibility-study-of-jubilee-hall-1-4715939 Brixton Buzz: 31 March Reinstate Our Library Service demo at Carnegie, Tues 3rd April http://www.brixtonbuzz.com/2018/03/reinstate-our-library-service-demo-at-carnegie-tues-3rd-april/

Libraries News Round-up: 29 March 2018

Chard & Ilminster News: 29 March Somerset | Dozens vow to fight for future of Ilminster Library http://www.chardandilminsternews.co.uk/news/ilminster_news/16123053.dozens-vow-to-fight-for-future-of-ilminster-library/ News Shopper: 29 March Bromley | West Wickham leisure centre and library up for redevelopment http://www.newsshopper.co.uk/news/16122628.west-wickham-leisure-centre-and-library-up-for-redevelopment/ Croydon Advertiser: 29 March Bromley |…

Libraries News Round-up: 28 March 2018

Buxton Advertiser: 28 March Derbyshire County Council unveils proposed changes to libraries https://www.buxtonadvertiser.co.uk/news/derbyshire-county-council-unveils-proposed-changes-to-libraries-1-9086098 Bromley Times: 28 March Strikes at Bromley libraries over “insulting” pay offer http://www.bromleytimes.co.uk/news/strikes-at-bromley-libraries-over-insulting-pay-offer-1-5453731 LocalGov: 28 March Bromley library staff strike over ‘paltry’ pay offer https://www.localgov.co.uk/Bromley-library-staff-strike-over-paltry-pay-offer/45034 News Shopper:…

Libraries News Round-up: 21 March 2018

PRIVATE EYE Issue No.1466 (p.35) Library News:  Northamptonshire In all good newsagents today Labour List: 21 March Outsourcing fails public services – Tory Barnet ‘easyCouncil’ chaos is proof ‘Libraries have been privatised, slashing space and leaving them unstaffed up to…

Libraries News Round-up: 11 March 2018

Aberdeen Evening Express: 11 March Fresh plans for facilities in North-east delayed https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/news/local/fresh-plans-for-facilities-in-north-east-delayed/ Sussex Express: 11 March East Sussex | LETTER: Time to lead by example? https://www.sussexexpress.co.uk/news/your-say/letter-time-to-lead-by-example-1-8410525

Libraries News Round-up: 4 March 2018

Shoreham Herald: 4 March Lincolnshire | A new chapter for volunteer-run library in Burgh le Marsh https://www.shorehamherald.co.uk/whats-on/arts/a-new-chapter-for-volunteer-run-library-in-burgh-le-marsh-1-8401217 Gazette Live: 4 March Stockton | Under-threat library reopens after being given last-minute lifeline volunteer-run library https://www.gazettelive.co.uk/news/teesside-news/under-threat-library-reopens-after-14365966 NW Evening Mail: 4 March Cumbria County Councillor condemns plans…

Libraries News Round-up: 20 February 2018

Lichfield Live: 20 February Staffordshire | Consultation event in Burntwood to showcase proposals to use technology to extend library opening times https://lichfieldlive.co.uk/2018/02/20/consultation-event-in-burntwood-to-showcase-proposals-to-use-technology-to-extend-library-opening-times/ Research Information: 20 February Librarians in top five professional groups for trustworthy information https://www.researchinformation.info/news/librarians-top-five-professional-groups-trustworthy-information Hereford Times: 20 February…

Libraries News Round-up: 15 February 2018

Bury Times: 15 February Opening date for new Tottington Centre and Community Library revealed http://www.burytimes.co.uk/news/15996001.Opening_date_for_new_Tottington_Centre_and_Community_Library_revealed/ Cambridge Independent: 15 February Library Extra is a ‘double charge’ for residents http://www.cambridgeindependent.co.uk/news/cambridge/library-extra-is-a-double-charge-for-residents-1-5395068 News Guardian: 15 February North Tyneside | Library campaign receives support https://www.newsguardian.co.uk/news/library-campaign-receives-support-1-9017463…